Previous slide
Next slide

Structure: Safer South Africa Foundation

Safer South Africa Foundation has a board that is responsible for governance and management. The board contributes to the strategic direction of the Foundation and provides advice, guidance and through various networks contacts to partner organisations.  Dr Tshenuwani Farisani, who served as a South African member of parliament, from 1994 to 2010, in several portfolio committees, including Correctional Services and Arts and Culture, chairs the board.

The Chief Executive Officer of the Safer South Africa Foundation is General Riah Phiyega, a trustee in the South African Police Service (SAPS) medical aid scheme, Polmed, and a former National Police Commissioner of the SAPS. The Safer South Africa Foundation’s strategy, projects and activities are reviewed at quarterly Board meetings. The Board plays an active role in supporting the Foundation’s vision and mission.


Chief Executive Officer - General Riah Phiyega (ret)
Deputy Chairperon - Mr Azwihangwisi Nesengani
Commissioner Angie Makwetal
Advocate Motlalepule Rantho
Brigadier Palesa Oliphant
Mr Jazzman Mahlakgane
Ms Buyi Mbambo


Chief Executive Officer - General Riah Phiyega (ret)
Director Community Outreach - Mr Walter Mashiya
Communication and Marketing Manager - Mr Godfrey Monene
Outreach Support - Mr Nhlanhla Shabangu
Partnership Leadership Project - Ms Nthabiseng Mokoena


Eastern Cape - Mrs Claudette Van Zyl
Free State - Mr Pitso Mereko
Gauteng - Ms Edna Mamonyane
Kwa Zulu Natal - Lt General Betty Ngobeni
Mpumalanga - Rev Col Gicks Moyane (ret)
North West - Mrs Irene Ramatisa
Western Cape - Ms Nomonde Scott